Middlesbrough Co-operative Learning Trust Statutory Notice

Notice is hereby given in accordance with section 19(3) of the Education and Inspections Act 2006 that the governing bodies of Abingdon Primary School, Acklam Whin Primary School, Archibald Primary School, Berwick Hills Primary School, Breckon Hill Primary School, Newport Primary School, and Thorntree Primary School, all intend to make a prescribed alteration to:

- Abingdon Primary School which is a Community School located at; Abingdon Road, Middlesbrough TS1 3JR
- Acklam Whin Primary School which is a Community School located at; Carlbury Avenue, Acklam, Middlesbrough TS5 8SQ
- Archibald Primary School which is a Community School located at; Ayresome Green Lane, Middlesbrough TS5 4DY
- Berwick Hills Primary School which is a Community School located at; Westerdale Road, Berwick Hills, Middlesbrough TS3 7QH
- Breckon Hill Primary School which is a Community School located at; Breckon Hill Road, Middlesbrough, TS4 2DS
- Newport Primary School which is a Community School located at; St Pauls Road, Newport, Middlesbrough TS1 5NQ
- Thorntree Primary School which is a Community School located at; The Greenway, Thorntree, Middlesbrough TS8 9HL

The proposed alteration in each case is to:

- change school category from Community to Foundation; and
- together with one or more of the proposed partners to acquire a Trust established otherwise than under the School Standards and Framework Act 1998 (SSFA 1998).

The proposed name of the Trust will be the "Middlesbrough Co-operative Learning Trust" and the proposed implementation date is 1st September 2014. The Trust does not already act as a foundation for any other school.

The proposed members of the Trust are:

- Middlesbrough Borough Council (1 Trustee)
- The Co-operative Movement, initially represented by the Co-operative College (1 Trustee)
- Each of the schools shall appoint 2 Trustees, namely the Head teacher and Chair of Governors (or nominee), at each of Abingdon Primary School, Acklam Whin Primary School, Archibald Primary School, Berwick Hills Primary School, Breckon Hill Primary School, Newport Primary School, and Thorntree Primary School.
- In addition learners at the school, parents, staff, members of the local community and local community organisations will be able to become members of the Trust. The Trust will have a Stakeholder Forum composed of members, which will be able to appoint 2 of the Trust's trustees.
- As the Trust develops it will welcome other schools and partners joining the Trust.

The rationale for acquiring the Trust, the contribution it will make, and the direction it will provide to the schools can be summarised as:

The governing bodies of the consulting schools are jointly proposing to establish, through a Trust, a long- term partnership that aims to bring together the co-operative movement, and other partners; we believe that by collaborating more closely with each other, and building on

the good relationships developed to date, we will further improve the quality of the learning journey for our young people. Becoming a shared Trust will help us to develop our vision and aims, continue to raise expectations and standards across the partnership, and make our existing collaboration more sustainable. We believe that to meet the needs of the community we need to work together as a community. As a group of schools we know that we can achieve more by working together than we can by working alone. A shared Trust, in this case the Middlesbrough Co-operative Learning Trust, would help to make that belief a reality.

The Trust will contribute to the advancement of education and raise standards through the creation of a platform for on-going improvement. The resources and expertise brought to the Trust by the members and partners will strengthen strategic leadership, increase support and challenge and consolidate effective monitoring, thereby bringing about rapid improvement in outcomes for students.

The values and ethical principles of the Co-operative Movement, especially the ideals of self-help and social responsibility, as well as active membership, will underpin the work of the schools – and the Trust.

This notice is an extract from the complete proposal. Copies of the full proposals can be obtained from the office of any of the schools or from the schools by writing to the governing body (address above) or on the school websites.

abingdon.primarysite.net

www.take2theweb.com/pub/middlesbrough/acklamwhin

www.schoolsweb.org.uk/archibald

www.sbcschools.org.uk/berwickhills

www.schoolswire.org/public/breckon314.html

www.schoolsweb.org.uk/newport

schoolswire.org/public/thorntree997.html

Within four weeks from the date of publication of this proposal any person may object to or make comments on the proposals by sending them to the appropriate school office or in writing to the Governing Body of the school (address above).

Signed:

Mark White
Clair of the Governing Body Abingdon Primary School
Cllr Janice Brunton
Rev Glyn Holland
Ray Holland
Ray Holland
Ian Mawson
Susan Carter
David Foster
Chair of the Governing Body Archibald Primary School
Chair of the Governing Body Berwick Hills Primary School
Chair of the Governing Body Breckon Hill Primary School
Chair of the Governing Body Newport Primary School
Chair of the Governing Body Thorntree Primary School